PreKindergarten Programming

 

The Shelton PreK program is a special education program, designed to provide special education services to students ages 3 and 4 who live in Shelton and are identified as having a disability.  We open up spots in each of the 3s and 4s classrooms for typical peers to participate, at no cost (except parents must provide transportation).  Each year we take applications in the spring, and then hold a screening process over two days for typical peer candidates.  We use the CT Early Learning Development Standards to identify those candidates who might serve as strong language, behavioral, and social skill models for disabled peers in the class.

 

Our preschool is a language based program, and we follow the CT Early Learning Development Standards in our instruction.  Click here for more information about these standards:  CT early learning development standards.pdf 

 

Our day consists of the following activities including:

 

  • Free Play

  • Circle Time (Literacy)

  • Centers

  • Snack Time

  • Story Time

  • Table Time / Fine Motor Activities

  • Gross Motor Activities

  • Playground (depending on weather)

  • Circle Time (Math)

  • Music

 

In addition, weekly, we have:

 

  • Show and Tell

  • Gym

 

Contact Information:

 

Mohegan Elementary School

47 Mohegan Road

Shelton, CT 06484

(203) 929-4121

 

 

PreKindergarten Staff

Administrators:

 

Ms. Ellen Tuckner - Principal

etuckner@sheltonpublicschools.org

 

Dr. Elizabeth Hannaway - Assistant Director of Special Education

ehannaway@sheltonpublicschools.org

 

Mrs. Janice Simonetti - Supervisor of Special Education

jsimonetti@sheltonpublicschools.org

 

Teachers:

 

Ms. Katie Dowling

kdowling@sheltonpublicschools.org

 

Mrs. Julianne Staffieri

jstaffieri@sheltonpublicschools.org

 

Mrs. Kayla Liggins

kliggins@sheltonpublicschools.org

 

Mrs. Tania Lecomte

tscaccia@sheltonpublicschools.org

 

Ms. Michele Demore (long term substitute PreK Teacher)

mdemore@sheltonpublicschools.org

 

Related Services Staff:

 

Mrs. Cindy Feldmann (Speech Language Pathologist)

cfeldmann@sheltonpublicschools.org

 

Mrs. Samantha Sapanski (Speech Language Pathologist)

kglidden@sheltonpublicschools.org

 

Dr. Justin Byron (School Psychologist)

jbyron@sheltonpublicschools.org

 

Ms. Cheryl Weber (Occupational Therapist)

cweber@sheltonpublicschools.org

 

Ms. Danielle DeWalt (Certified Occupational Therapy Assitant)

ddewalt@sheltonpublicschools.org

 

Mrs. Lynne Gagliola (Physical Therapist)

lgagliola@sheltonpublicschools.org

Typical Peer Application

Click on the link below to access the Typical Peer Application: 

 

PreK Typical Peer Application 17-18.doc

Helpful Resources

CT Early Learning and Development Standards - click here:  http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde/lib/sde/pdf/backtoschool/ctelds_whatchildren_birthtofive_should_know_and_be_able_to_do.pdf

CT Early Learning and Development Standards: Meeting the Needs of Diverse Learners Guidance Document - click here:  http://www.ct.gov/oec/lib/oec/DiverseLearnersApril_26_2016_Finalw.pdf